My Body

4 May 2016

My body isn’t an apology

My flabby arms held you tight,
My broad shoulders supported your head,
When you resisted crying with all your might,
When you slit your wrists and bled.

My body isn’t an apology

My lumber legs run to you,
My fat thighs burnt with pain,
When you couldn’t break through,
When from love you did abstain.

My body isn’t an apology

My plain eyes wept for you,
My stupid heart yearning in vain,
When life’s lessons you couldn’t go through,
Giving in to the infestimal mental strain.

My body isn’t an apology

My conscience bade me let go,
My large hands left empty,
When you followed her like a shadow,
Quashing my love for you with impunity.

My body isn’t an apology

What I am is not encapsulated by my body,
What you got is what you deserved, you see,
‘Tis because of me that you were once somebody,
No, I won’t return after being treated poorly.

My body isn’t an apology,

Go on and live your life without me,
Our once heaven you grossly condemned,
Forgot all we had; now let me be,
It was over a long time ago, it was the end.

My body isn’t an apology.

Creative Commons License
My Body by Serendipity is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at serendipitysees@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

